The Scottish Labour Party will place third-party cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice.

The process for electing a new leader of the Scottish Labour Party is underway with our MSPs and MP submitting their nominations. You can find these listed below along with the timetable.


Date Event
Saturday 16 January Timetable and procedures agreed

Freeze date for eligibility to participate as a Labour Party member or affiliated supporter

Declaration of interest open

Sunday 17 January, midnight Deadline for declarations of interest.
Monday 18 January Nominations open for Leader
Tuesday 19 January, noon Nominations close

Validly nominated candidates for Leadership to be published

Scottish Labour hustings period opens

Supporting nominations open

Wednesday 20 January, 5pm Last date for members to pay off arrears in order to participate
Tuesday 26 January Supporting nominations close
Tuesday 9 February Ballot opens

Scottish Party hustings period closes

Friday 26 February Ballot closes
Saturday 27 February Result announcement

MSP/MP Nominations

Candidate Nominations
Monica Lennon MSP Neil Findlay MSP
Rhoda Grant MSP
Monica Lennon MSP
Alex Rowley MSP
Elaine Smith MSP
Anas Sarwar MSP Claire Baker MSP
Neil Bibby MSP
Mary Fee MSP
Iain Gray MSP
Mark Griffin MSP
Daniel Johnson MSP
James Kelly MSP
Lewis Macdonald MSP
Jenny Marra MSP
Pauline McNeill MSP
Ian Murray MP
Anas Sarwar MSP
Colin Smyth MSP
David Stewart MSP
Sarah Boyack MSP
Claudia Beamish MSP
Johann Lamont MSP

Affiliate Nominations

Candidate Nominations
Monica Lennon MSP Unite the Union
Socialist Health Association
Christians on the Left
SEA Scotland
Anas Sarwar MSP USDAW
Labour Movement for Europe
BAME Labour Scotland
Jewish Labour Movement
Scottish Co-operative Party

Councillor Nominations

Candidate Nominations
Monica Lennon MSP Allyson Black
Gail Casey
Gerry Convery
Neil Crooks
Joe Cullinane
Eddie Devine
Barry Douglas
Alison Evison
Robert Foster
Gary Guichan
Garry Haldane
Judy Hamilton
Lynsey Hamilton
Jim Harte
John Hood
Matthew Kerr
Martin Lennon
Catherine McClymont
Martin McCulloch
John McGhee
Dom McGuire
Andrew McGuire
Davie McLachlan
Louise McPhater
Alex McVey
Norah Mooney
John Mooney
Gordon Munro
Clare Quigley
David Ross
Jim Sharkey
Jim Sheridan
Bill Shields
Ryan Smart
John Sweeney
Geraldine Woods
Anas Sarwar MSP Saqib Ahmed
Shamin Akhtar
Scott Arthur
Alasdair Bailey
Derek Bibby
Jim Blackwood
Philip Bratt
Martin Brennan
Maureen Burke
Alistair Cameron
Angela Campbell
Dave Clark
Jim Clocherty
Altany Craik
Malcolm Cunning
Betty Cunningham
Stephen Curran
Carolann Davidson
Cammy Day
Maureen Devlin
Alison Dowling
Archie Dryburgh
Kenny Duffy
Fiona Dugdale
Kenny Earle
Tom Fisher
Jim Fletcher
Alex Gallagher
David Graham
Archie Graham
Gary Gray
Joan Griffiths
Norman Hampshire
Rashid Hussain
Russell Imrie
Willie Inness
Lillian Jones
John Kane
Jim Kavanagh
Paul Kelly
Jeffrey Leaver
Jim Logue
Hanzala Malik
Sean Marshall
Kathleen Martin
John Martin
Monique McAdams
Bet McAllister
Douglas McAllister
Frank McAveety
David McBride
Stephen McCabe
Elaine McDougall
Martin McElroy
Brian McGinley
Maureen McKay
Deirdre McKay
Aileen McKenzie
David McKie
John McMillan
Frank McNally
Ian McNeil
Michael McPake
Alan Moir
Kevin Montgomery
Robert Mooney
James Muirhead
Elaine Murray
Eva Murray
Derek Noble
Paul O’Kane
Cecilia O’Lone
Ian Perry
Hanif Raja
Mo Razzaq
Martin Rhodes
Louise Roarty
Philip Saxton
James Scanlon
Graham Scott
Nicholas Shevlin
Soryia Siddique
Christine Simpson
Kenny Stevenson
Derek Stewart
David Stitt
Kirsteen Sullivan
Andrew Verrecchia
Mandy Watt
Adam Wilson

CLP Nominations

Candidate Nominations
Monica Lennon MSP Aberdeenshire West CLP
Almond Valley CLP
Angus North and Mearns CLP
Argyll and Bute CLP
Clackmannanshire CLP
Clydesdale CLP
Coatbridge and Chryston CLP
Cunninghame North CLP
Cunninghame South CLP
Dundee City CLP
Edinburgh Central CLP
Edinburgh Northern and Leith CLP
Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire CLP
Falkirk East CLP
Glasgow Kelvin CLP
Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn CLP
Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse CLP
Kirkcaldy CLP
Mid Fife and Glenrothes CLP
North East Fife CLP
Renfrewshire North and West CLP
Anas Sarwar MSP Airdrie and Shotts CLP
Angus South CLP
Cumbernauld and Kilsyth CLP
Dumbarton CLP
Dumfries & Galloway CLP
East Kilbride CLP
East Lothian CLP
Eastwood CLP
Edinburgh Southern CLP
Falkirk West CLP
Glasgow Anniesland CLP
Glasgow Cathcart CLP
Glasgow Provan CLP
Glasgow Shettleston CLP
Greenock and Inverclyde CLP
Inverness and Nairn CLP
Midlothian North and Musselburgh CLP
Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale CLP
Moray CLP
Motherwell and Wishaw CLP
Na h-Eileanan an Iar CLP
Renfrewshire South CLP
Rutherglen CLP
Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch CLP
Strathkelvin and Bearsden CLP

Chip in to our election fund